Help! I'm a pricing noob

Geoellen

Hello everyone,

I wonder if you can help? I'm sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place, I'm new here :giggle:
I've been asked to do work for a large highstreet brand which involves flying abroad (from London to Asia) to paint a huge mural (10m high but with assistants) and also to use that same image for a run of t-shirts.
I need to come back with a quote pretty soon but as there are all these variables of licensing the image, flying abroad and the unknown of how many days the painting itself will take me I'm super lost.
Of corse I don't want to undersell myself but I'm also scared of overpricing and scaring them off.

Thanks in advance!

Georgie

If it's a large highstreet brand I dont think you need to worry about over pricing. If anything they may question your compitency if you come in too cheap. And if you created the artwork they want to use, then they cant really go elsewhere for the work.

Questions you need to answer:
• Do you have to pay the assistants or is the client dealing with that?
• What standard are these assistants? You need to know if you're directing skilled artisists or managing local school kids.
• How much does a business class air fare cost? Its a business trip so why rough it in economy?
• How much will comfortable accomodation cost? Hotel/hostel standards in Asia can be much more varied than in the UK so make sure you know what you get for the money.
• How long will you be there? This is where the standard of your assistants comes in.
• What's your daily rate? You'll need to charge that from teh day you leave to the day you estimate getting home
• What expenses are you likely to have over there? It's completely reasonable to expect them to cover expenses such as food and travel
• How much will the client likely make from the sale of your design on t-shirts?