Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello guys.

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by JamesRobinson, Mar 15, 2013.

1. JamesRobinson

JamesRobinson New Member

Hey there
    I’m a BA student in the UK, heading into my second year of graphic communication. I find myself gravitating towards design theory, and print design. I love video games, always have, and despite having a mac book pro, I find myself using my PC more! I’ve joined because I want to look into other designers that are in my position, or are currently designing freelance etc. Hopefully I can also get some feedback from you guys also, as there is only so much feedback I can get from a few tutors and classmates at uni.
    I’m generally going to lurk around a bit before posting too much, but here a link to my Behance Portfolio I impulse made earlier. (Currently only 1 project :wacko: )
    Many thanks, James
  2. Squiddy

Squiddy Guest

Hello there! Nice to meet you :)
    That's a nice piece you've got in your portfolio, excellent photography as well! Have you worked on any paid projects yet?
  3. JamesRobinson

JamesRobinson New Member

Unfortunately due to my part-time work to keep me afloat on my course, and my daily 40 mile each way commute to Northampton keeps me from being able to attract any design orientated work. I’d really love to chuck in my part time job in retail to start freelancing, however without stable income either I wouldn’t be able to afford my education (I don’t have a maintenance loan). My home town too, Dunstable (North of London) isn’t particularly a bustling town, with small local businesses closing frequently and so on. My work load for uni is also MASSIVE. I was surprised when students in their 2[sup]nd[/sup] and 3[sup]rd[/sup] years were saying it actually gets easier in the later years. However over this year I have entered a number of competitions for placements.