Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello from Scotland

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by STU9000, Jun 18, 2013.

1. STU9000

STU9000 Member

Hi, I'm an ex physics graduate who has turned his hand to a big of graphic design/illustration over the past few years and trying to maybe get into that as a vocation/get lucky and earn a ton of money from it. A ton of money? A ton of money. Whoooooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh! (rep from me to the first person who can tell me the name of the song?) I'm quite inexperienced, but have lots of original ideas and an interesting portfolio which I will upload soon.

Just here for advice, etc.

Out of interest, is this place affiliated in any way with graphicdesignforum.com?

2. Corrosive

Corrosive Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum.

STU9000 likes this.
  3. ARRIVALS

ARRIVALS Well-Known Member

Hi there, welcome to the forum.

STU9000 likes this.
  4. STU9000

STU9000 Member

thanks? lol

and are you affiliated with gdf.com?

5. ARRIVALS

ARRIVALS Well-Known Member

Not as far as I know, nope.

6. STU9000

STU9000 Member

Goody good drops.

So what do you have to do to make it in the world of art then? Is simply having a creative flair enough? I'm starting to find out that mediocrity and money are the two main wheels that the bicycle of art runs on.

I just started doing stuff when I became out of work a few years ago and it's kind of grown from there into something that I seriously considering doing as a vocation. There are gaps in my skill base that I am working on but everything I have done has been on a pick up and go sort of level. I've learned everything as I go along, and my four recent vector creations for Talenthouse were done without ever having used illustrator before. So I know I can pick all these skills up quite easily, it's just finding the time to learn them all.