Having doubts about GD, input greatly appreciated!

Tedster

Hi Guys,

I'm a member of another GD forum so I thought I'd post here instead as the content is somewhat negative towards what we all do here, though I'll elaborate. I graduated with a first class degree in Visual Communication in 2009 and since then, I've not obtained the continued success that I thought I would.

For the last 2 years I've been in a job that is mildly related to GD and I really think it's starting to have a negative effect on my creativity. I know I'm very talented at what I do, but I can never muster the motivation to sit down and design for hours on end. When I do, I love it and the majority of my work I'm very happy with, and I've always given my freelance clients what they've wanted, and they've been happy with what I provide. I'm just worried that my lack of motivation will be detriment to me being a success in this profession.

I've dealt with depression in the past, and I feel like it's starting to creep back into my life again which DOES effect my mood. I'm currently in a job for the past 2 years that doesn't have much to do with GD and I think it effects my creativity as it's fairly straight forward and not that challenging (Senior Digital Editor for a photography company). When I look through say, Computer Arts magazine and see the amazing designs contained within, it makes me cringe as I know I can achieve the same, but in my current mental state, I feel like I can't achieve that level.

I'm sorry if this comes across as a pessimistic way of thinking, but I'm really stuck in a rut and I'm finding it hard to see the light. I'm starting to wonder if GD is the profession for me, even though when I do apply myself to it, I enjoy it. Graphic design is a design medium that requires constant honing of skills and being diligent. I feel like I'm being left behind and that it'll get to a point where I'll be too old to really make a stamp in the design community.