Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphic Design Alien

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum:' started by Salma, Oct 2, 2015.

1. Salma

Salma New Member

Greetings! :tea: (i thought this emoji was fist bumping but tea is even better)
    I am new to the UK and am struggling to find work in my field. I have sent my CV out to numerous listings and haven't had a single response yet (over a month). I'm not sure why this is... Is it imperative that one has a graphic design degree in the UK to get a Mid-weight designer job? Or perhaps I'm not highlighting the right key strengths or maybe it's something I'm saying (or not saying) in my cover letters. I know that I'm good at what I do and my work hasn't received bad reviews from anyone I've shown it to. I'm really struggling to understand the lack of response. Is the graphic design market saturated in London? Should I just give up and settle for a shop assistant gig to make ends meet? I have been aiming a little high regarding the jobs I've been applying for so maybe just aiming for a junior position would be the answer? I wish I was more familiar with how things work around here and that's why I joined this forum, to get to know you all and the industry in London. I hope that this is the right place. And even if you have no answers to my problems I'd just like to say Hello Graphic Design Forum(s?)!

2. Paul Murray

Paul Murray Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum.

Not at all, most studios are interested in your work and experience rather than any formal qualification. Some with prefer a degree, but it's not a necessity for many employers.