Getting new projects

TomStutt

Hi all, not been on here for a long time due to starting other ventures away from design (kind of) and need to get involved more.

I've found it really hard lately to get new work and projects. I've tried emailing people, calling people, using sites like people her hour and social media but I dont seem to be getting through to anyone.

What do people do when work starts to dry up? Do you contact agencies, create personal work to keep busy??

I've re-designed my site to a point where I'm happy to put work on it, but due to the lack of work, the stuff I gave on there is getting a little old now.

Any advice would be welcome. Thanks all.

Never tried this (not a great start, eh) but walking around town, popping into local businesses with a busines card just saying 'Hey, i'm a graphic designer. Is it ok if I leave my business card with you just in case you need some design work sorted?' If they are actually interested they will ask questions. If they are not interested they will most likely (out of politeness) say sure, leave it on the side. Win-win eh?

Thanks for the reply Alex. Thats a good shout. I will do that. I have some business cards I need to get rid of. Cheers

I tend to get personal work done to improve my folio and then get it out there.

That and walk the dogs, do the housework, fix stuff, school run and so on............and on..........and on.

Play a lot of golf.

But as I'm getting to desperation point now for work I've decided to go around the local businesses and introduce myself. Will let you know how that goes next week.

I stand at the end of our lane with a sandwich board, spinning a huge arrow and gesturing towards my house.

Only been arrested twice up to now.