Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting into Uni advice

Discussion in 'Chill Out Forum:' started by andy s, Sep 17, 2012.

1. andy s

andy s New Member

I'm in my last year of high school and hoping to study graphic design at uni next year. Really needing some advice on improving my chances as it's apparently very competitive especially for the art colleges at Dundee and Edinburgh. I was advised by teachers to create a website for my portfolio so would be good to look at sites created by people of similar age and experience to me. If anyone knows of any that would be great.
  2. Jimlad

Jimlad Well-Known Member

Hi Andy,

You've accidentally posted this in the wrong area of the forum I think, but I'm certain a friendly moderator will move it shortly. To answer your question...

Making your online portfolio, take a look at websites like Carbonmade, Dropr, Behance etc... there are a ton of user-friendly, FREE portfolio websites these days (wish they'd been about when I was at uni) which are easy to use and all have different focusses or strong points. And for less than £15 you can buy your own web address to use too, from websites such as Also lots of people use Facebook and Blogger and Twitter and DeviantArt and all kinds of other free websites to host their work, not just sticking to one website.

When looking for other people's portfolios for inspiration, I would worry less about looking for work produced by people of your own age and experience, and more about finding portfolios that are interesting and memorable, no matter what the age/experience level of the creator, and looking at what they've done and if possible how/why they've done it that way. It's like anything else, you learn best by playing against people of greater experience than yourself.