Generating concepts / ideas

tr2005

I've been working as a freelance graphic designer for several years after graduating. I seem to do okay in earning a half-decent wage whilst working on quite fun projects that are good for my portfolio.

I have no problem when it comes to making things look aesthetically pleasing, however I feel my weakpoint is the ideas side of things. I am always sure to come up with an actual 'concept' when it comes to any of the branding projects I've worked on, but they are often very abstract to the point where no-one would get it unless they had it explained to them... and it takes me a long time to come up with any ideas that I feel are worth using

What I struggle with the most, is things like advertising campaigns. I've been expected to come up with ideas for these a couple of times in my freelance career and it's not worked out very well. It's like I just don't know where to start with them, and my mind is blank. Having said that, I do want to get better at them

I'm in the process of trying to get a job in a design agency to get more experience, however I did recently get turned down by one agency because of this weak-point of mine. And I worry that if I do get a job, they may realise further down the line that I struggle to come up with ideas, and I may end up getting finished up.

Does anyone else have this problem? and what can I do about it? Any recommended books to read etc? At the minute Im thinking 'One Minute Briefs' on twitter could be a good place to start

I'm guessing that as a freelancer you work alone (I do).

I find that it can be hard to think big for larger projects when I've only got the one head.
Maybe you'll find that when you're in an agency environment where there are others to bounce ideas off and/or to co-operate with, you'll find that this changes?

For example: