Education Advice

Hi All,

I've only posted here a few times. Some of you may already know that I am a complete amateur! Im self taught to a very low level. I do think I have a natural eye for design and anything visual though I just dont have the theoretical knowledge or technical skills yet.

Im currently working. Doing 2d CAD, with the possiblilty of going into 3D (3d studio max most likely) If I can talk them into it. So I either stay and push for doing 3d training (Ive been here 4 years now, I only have GCSE's and a city in guilds AutoCAD, and aabout 7 modules of a graphic design btec which I didn't complete due to falling pregnant :))

Or...Do I try and study full time? and if so whats the best course/degree to do? There are so many and I am unsure of the exact disapline I'd be interested in as I dont know enough yet. Some are very IT based, theres the multimedia ones, that include a broad range. The web design ones, graphic design, visual communitcation...Basically Im a bit lost.

Anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks in Advance

I also started out as a 2D CAD technician but found it wasn't 'creative' at all and so left to follow a more glamorous career :icon_smile:

I think you need to really decide what it is that you'd like to focus on in future, be it advertising, web design, or graphic design (which tends to be focused on creating work to be printed). Take a look at all the prospectuses you can get hold of from universities you'd like to attend, go to the open days, speak to staff and current students, find out what it is they do and decide if it's what you want to do.

A lot of design skills will be transferable to other disciplines, and personally I think it's more important to focus on the actual design process than the final software skills (having a nice looking design is no good if it doesn't have an idea behind it). Software skills can be picked up in no time.