Do you like Lorem Ipsum & Why/ Why not?

lumedesigns

Hi all!
I am currently studying graphic design at NCAD, Ireland and my current book topic is all about placeholder text Lorem Ipsum. It would really help me out if you could let me know your personal thoughts, helpfulness and opinions - anything relevant to our fellow Lipsum, as this is research some answers may be used in my book, however I will respect privacy of others but if you would like to be named publicly thats even better!
Looking forward to seeing your answers!
-LM

There's neither a dislike or like - and I'm from Ireland and familiar with NCAD.

Lorem Ipsum is from the texts of Cicero or something like that - and it's commonly used. There's plenty of other systems, Quark used Jaberwocky, which is from Lewis Carrol (not sure if it's related to it actually I just know the poem and kinda thought this might be a connection...

Anyway, I use it sparingly as a lot of people see it and get freaked out because they don't know what it is and think your spellchecker is broken - and I've seen people insert it in text and send a proof and then the client sends it to the printer and it gets printed. Then the client blames the designer - but the designer wasn't given any content.

I tend not to use it.

It is what it is, it's not really something one can have a strong opinion of. It serves a purpose and used to be recognisable to most, and I'm not sure how one could use it as a whole book topic.

I once asked my uncle, who new some latin, what it said, and he thought it was gobbledegook anyway.