Member Offer
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creative Vs Techie

Discussion in 'Chill Out Forum:' started by andthen, Feb 23, 2010.

1. andthen

andthen Member

Hi there people,

My name is Sukhy (or AndThen) and I only just got a new job as a web developer. I graduated in '07 from a Multimedia Computing course and after being made redundant after 7 months into my grad job I found it super hard to get anything else related to web/graphic design.

Now I consider myself a total creative, I love creating digital art, illustrations etc and I code well in htmlx/css, good at photoshop/illustrator, and I dread going into ASP.NET or any other back-end language, which I am having to do now with the aid of training because there are'nt a lot of front-end jobs willing to give me a chance with my 18-month experience.

Now I just wanted to know if any of you made a compromise earlier on to become familiar with back-end programming or whether you stuck to your guns and pursued a more creative avenue?

Thanks for reading this far down!

2. Levi

Levi Moderator Staff Member

I think the saying "jack of all trades, master of none" can work well on our type of work :)

3. Greg

Greg Active Member

Hi Sukhy,

The furthest I have gone with the techie route is learning how to code my designs to HTML/CSS and some very basic PHP, beyond that I outsource web development. Like Levi says, the saying rings true, it's impossible to become the best designer you can be as well as the best web developer, and best programmer, they each require their own skill set, their own time and dedication, not to mention the changing trends, knowledge, understaing of software/techniques (more relevant to tech side of things).