Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concept design

Discussion in 'Chill Out Forum:' started by Duncan Y., Jul 27, 2010.

1. Duncan Y.

Duncan Y. Senior Member

Hi guys! Can someone here tells me what actually a Concept Design is like and on what purpose it serves? I'm totally lost on this...

Many thanks in advance! :)
  2. davewill

davewill Senior Member

Hi Duncan,
    Normally when you are asked to do a concept design that simply means drawing an early idea that is still in its early stages. This may be drawn by hand or on your computer but it gives the client an idea of what the final thing will look like but without worrying about all the final details.

I had to draw hundereds of concept designs when I studied Product Design at uni which showed what my idea would look like, how it would work, what colours it would be, and the sketches would be labelled with additional information such as the materials I was planning to use. This would give anyone who saw my drawings an idea of what the final product would be like.

Often, concept designs change alot as an idea is developed through the design process.

Hope that helps!
  3. Levi

Levi Moderator Staff Member

Dave I'd actually disagree a little with you there (I did product design at uni too) - to me a concept design is about showcasing ideas to gauge public/client reaction. I'd see the 'concept' stages you're referring to as design development as they're not really a concept until they're presented to a client/tutor/general public, while being developed they're still idea's and as you know an idea can be completely different to the presented concept. As to the materials, they usually went in their own technical document or on the technical drawings, I never mentioned the materials used on any of my concept design images, however on development work there were notes about the materials/colours etc.