Print Reseller Scheme
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

competitions

Discussion in 'Graphic Design Forum:' started by jannah hossain, Mar 25, 2016.

1. jannah hossain

jannah hossain New Member

HI,
    i'm a student in year 10 and i'm looking for any competitions that would be suitable for my
    age category. I'd preferably like to enter with a creative graphical piece of work. Any suggestions?

2. hankscorpio

hankscorpio Moderator Staff Member

Competitions will not pay a wage. I strongly discourage this route.

You cannot have a career on the promise of being paid if your design is 'chosen' - follow the link and read below carefully.

www.nospec.com

3. Levi

Levi Moderator Staff Member

he's 14-15 Hank.... I've said it before I don't mind comps aimed at children which don't look to replace paid designers as it allows them to practice their skills.

Do I know of any... no, sorry, as I require paying for my services, supporting Hanks view there, I don't go around looking for comps.

4. scotty

scotty Well-Known Member

I agree with both @Levi and @hankscorpio on this one as comp's are exploitative but I see the appeal when you're starting out.
    A written brief and the chance of winning.

5. hankscorpio

I wasn't aware of what "Year 10" meant.

I still don't encourage any competitions.

It's nearing the summer - why not put a portfolio together and contact local design companies and see if you can intern/work experience for the summer, part time or what not.

6. Levi

I suppose we could sling up some 'simple briefs' if necessary couldn't we. Maybe make them a sticky thread or something

scotty likes this.
  7. scotty

scotty Well-Known Member

I'd be happy to chip in.

8. Paul Murray

Paul Murray Moderator Staff Member