Colour Consistency

Mal Kol

Dear Members,

I have been a graphic designer for around 15 years now but have never found a proper workable solution for colour consistency across web and print using all the systems that have been put in place to address the problem, namely: Pantone colour libraries and bridge swatches that give values for coated/ uncoated stocks, Adobe Creative Suites preset colour profiles such as FOGRA39 and monitor colour calibration using devices such as XRite's i1 Display.

I suppose the reason why i am posting this thread, is because with all these tools at my disposal i am still getting colour inaccuracies 15 years on. I know colour is a problematic animal and you can never get 100% accurate results but after all my care and expense on the issue i am left wanting more.

I am based in London, UK, use Mac OSX and have created a custom profile for my Asus PG279 wide gamut monitor. I wonder what is the best workflow? Some users of this forums mention:

"Whereas, if your logo is in RGB then converting it to CMYK is easier as RGB has a wider gamut so your colours are more closely matched."

I always assumed the reverse is better, as if you were to make a logo in RGB you might use values that are not in the narrower CMYK gamut, and thus risk drastic colour shifts when converting... so limiting yourself to a narrower gamut from the outset would be sensible... no?

Also if i have my custom calibrated profile is representing colours on my monitor as accurately as possible... how does my printer know what the accurate colours im viewing on my screen look like to reproduce i wonder? What is the universal colour standard that devices such as the i1 adhere to. I know i can embed the profile in the artwork sent to my printers but i'm not sure if its used in print or simply for representation on screen?