Brand Guidelines

MichJ22

I'm a Graphic Designer for an education provider that has colleges around the UK.

I have been given a task to produce a Brand Guidelines document for all staff that works for the company. There are many different job roles in the company, for example, teachers/training instructors, office workers that wouldn't have any Graphic Design skills.

So, I've been trying to keep all these people in mind while designing the Brand Guidelines.... I'm not entirely sure if I'm being successful in this!

I would be grateful for any tips on how to explain to non-Graphic Designers how to use the brand

Thanks in advance! :)

Personally, I'd try and get hold of another companies brand guidelines and do something similar to that as there's no point in re-inventing the wheel and there can be a lot of work involved.
Sometimes they're available freely on the net in .pdf format.

Companies sometimes pay thousands to have them made and then they're just ignored by everyone anyway.

Thanks for the reply!

I've done quite a bit of research and the only ones I could find were made for graphic designers.

It seems pointless putting the colour codes etc. in a guideline for regular people (don't mean to offend), there would be no occasion for them to use them.

I'm hoping to maybe get some ideas/tips on how to word things and what to include. I have already included the new logo, how to use it correctly and when to use it (on letterheads etc).

To make it easier for everyone, I've designed a letterhead in InDesign and converted it to a word document that will be available to everyone in the company. And I will also be sending the logo to everyone in PDF format so they'll be able to use it on any company documents.

And I toooootally understand that some may ignore it.... we still have people in the company using a logo from 1999!! :/

I am loving your website and work by the way!