best books to learn from?

Jeffk

Hi,

I'm not a graphic designer, though I have done a couple of 'amateur' projects & think I do have a bit of an eye for design. I'd like to learn more & maybe work towards becoming a professional graphic designer. I can't afford to pay £thousands for courses, so I'm planning on teaching myself, at least initially.

I'm probably going to be using Adobe CS5 & have had suggestions of the official Adobe "Classroom in a Book" series & Deke McCllelland's "One-on-One" series but I'm aware these are more about how to use Adobe CS, rather than principles of graphic design.

So, does anyone have any recommendations or comments re

(a) books specifically about graphic design
(b) which software might be best - Adobe CS, QuarkXPress 9, Paint Shop Pro, other
(c) re Adobe CS specifically - which of the above books would be better, or any others

Thanks in advance!

Hey Jeffk, there not going to be any one specific all in one grpahic design handbook out there unfortunately, you need to mix up your book choices between how to manuals for your software and general design books coving all topics such as website design, typography and art. a great book for becoming a professional designer is "How to be a graphic designer without loosing your soul" by Adrian Shaughnessy, its a great book for a beginerr to get a feel for the industry. If your looking for a how to book for the Adbode creative suite get a dummies book, there great and easy to use and ther is no shortage of titles covering the whole adobe range. once you can use your software you will find that you begin to create ork based on your own personal deisng preferences so i woulnt worry to much about books on how to design etc. Hope this helps.

Yak Out!