Becoming a Graphic Designer

andreaxx

Hi there, I really want to become a Graphic Designer but I really dont know where to start.
I know how to use photoshop but not enough and Iv now got Adobe illustrator but Im just starting to learn how to use that. I dont have enough skils to go out there so I basicly want to study but I really have no clue as to where Im supposed to start or what courses Im supposed to study. Im hoping that someone who is in the industry or someone who can point me in the right direction can help me. I just wsh I knew where I was supposed to start, is it a course at college or university, what are the courses called etc. Oh and also does anyone know of any resources I can use like really good tutorials on illustrator so I can use just for now to help me understand the basics of illustrator and start creating some work. Thank you.

Tutorials for Illustrator:
Vectortuts+ | Adobe Illustrator and vector tutorials, from beginner to advanced. - some amazing tutorials
Abduzeedo | Graphic Design Inspiration and Photoshop Tutorials - I always find a few good Photoshop & Illustrator tutorials on here...good for inspiration too.
There are literally hundreds/thousands of sites where you can find good tutorials, just do a Google search and I'm sure you'll find what you're looking for.
I'd try to learn Indesign at some point to if you can.

Courses:
Depends on your age, current qualifications, but generally, I'd recommend one of the level 3 courses like: National Diploma in Graphic Design, Access to Higher Education in Art & Design (if you're over 18), or Art Foundation Diploma in Art (at most colleges). They'll all give you the foundations of general art & design as well as more graphics focussed areas like type etc, and they'll prepare you to go on to a degree/HND.

A book I was given a while ago that was really useful was: Graphic Design Essentials: Skills, Software and Creative Solutions: Amazon.co.uk: Joyce Walsh Macario: Books