Am I being paid fairly? - Junior Graphic Designer

Nathan C

Hi, I am a Junior Graphic Designer with a total of 2 Years Industry Experience. I completed my apprenticeship 7 months ago now and I have been working as a Junior Graphic Designer since. The roles I generally undertake is designing print for our smaller clients, designing web graphics, stationery, chasing clients and sending artwork to print. And also assisting the Lead Designer. I am aware that my managing director and the lead graphic designer are very happy with my standard of work and my continued progress as a designer.

I am paid a annual wage of £12,000. I work for a small agency (7 Staff) based just outside Manchester. Am I paid fairly? I don't think I am.

I've seen Junior roles advertised at around £14–£16k in the Manchester area. £12,000 does seem low, below minimum hourly wage even. How old are you?

Annual wage but doesn't state how many hours a week you're doing. You could be doing 1 day a week for all we know in which case you'd be on a good deal. If it is a full 40 hour week then imo you're a bit low but I'm not sure if there were any agreements in place regarding the apprenticeship to consider.

I do remember being told that straight out of uni I should be looking at around 15k per year (slightly different field but likely similar) but this was 15 years ago now but I doubt it's changed much due to the 'popularity' of graphic design and the prevalence of people who are prepared to work for peanuts just to get a foot in the door.

Annual wage but doesn't state how many hours a week you're doing. You could be doing 1 day a week for all we know in which case you'd be on a good deal. If it is a full 40 hour week then imo you're a bit low but I'm not sure if there were any agreements in place regarding the apprenticeship to consider.