Advice Please

Mark2000

Hi. I have been a freelance 3D & Motion Designer for over 16 years, there have been good times and bad, but lately the work has not been as consistent as I need. I have a growing family ( 5 including myself ), and there just isn't enough money coming in to make things work as its too inconsistent.

I have been looking at various jobs with little success, as most of the feedback is not the work but the fact that I have limited experience in-house.

I am a bit unsure what to do, and even considering a career change if I can't find something soon. The other thought I had was to build a portfolio of UI/UX work, to try and see if that might spark some interest especially as there seem to be more jobs with that type of thing.

It would be great to hear anyones thoughts on the situation, and any advice on the best thing to do. I am 38 now and feel I would be happy to change into another industry, but without retraining its tricky to know what you can do that pays well?

I hope someone can help

thanks

Ben

What sort of work do you normally produce? Could you try targeting a new sector perhaps, or adapt your 3D skills to other areas? Many companies are only just now seeing the potential for 3D printing, so you could transfer those skills over to CAD for businesses who need someone to visualise and prototype new products. @Levi works in product design so he's probably better placed to advise in that area.

Do you have any experience of coding? You mentioned UX/UI work, with your background in animation you could potentially open new routes with custom SVG animations for apps and websites. CreativeDash have some really inspiring examples of SVG/canvas animations, such as this loading animation – https://dribbble.com/shots/1901531-Loading