Advice on My Portfolio

DanRDesigner

So I was laid off from a newspaper company after 10 years of service. I am trying to get into freelancing since I haven't been able to find a job. I would like some opinions on my portfolio. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am 33 years old and thought I had my career thought out. But after the layoff and no replies to any applications I have put in, I am thinking I am just not a good designer anymore. I am very passionate about what I do and I love designing all different things as you can see from my work. But I don't know code (nor do i want to learn it) for websites, so that kills chances of landing web design jobs. And as I said, being in the newspaper industry for the past 10 years, well all I really have to show are newspaper ads which don't really showcase my real skills I guess. Don't worry about critiquing my work, I can definitely take the criticism and hope you would be honest. Of course family and friends like my work but they are obligated to I think right? Anyways, I need to get out of this rut I am in so again, ANY advice would help.

Thanks all!

http://danielsanx7.wixsite.com/danrdesigner

Honest first impression, no insult intended etc...

It looks like someone who's worked at a newspaper for 10 years...
The ads are the 'perfect example' of what a newspaper advert looks like
Your posters, while not exactly bad, aren't really anything special either
T-shirts, nothing there I haven't seen before

And I think this really sums up the majority of what you're showing (and you have far too much in your portfolio..), your work looks like it's been done to a high quality but it's lacking that something special to make an employer look at and go 'wow'.