Advice for a promotion to Sr. Designer

Frutiger

I'm hoping someone with experience at a senior or art direction level can help me. Back in January, I was talking to my boss about having more projects to do and that got him thinking. About a month later, he approached me about a promotion for a Senior Designer role (I have 21 years of experience, but was hired as a mid-level Graphic Designer about two years ago). I think the transition will be tough. He's already having me do small tasks like reviewing the junior's work, which she doesn't like at all, and a non-designer's work as well. I'm getting the "stink eye" because of this and being labeled as a "know it all." Nobody knows about this promotion but me and my boss (creative director). Maybe it's because my promotion isn't official yet and even though I DO know more about this stuff then anyone else there, I'm still getting isolated (not from everyone, just two or three people). It would be interesting to hear some your stories and how you handled this transition among your peers. Was there friction? If so, how did you handle it? This is really bothering me because I like everyone there. Thank you.

I think this is an interesting thread that should be looked at for sure. I am finding myself in your same shoes (but in a lil bit of a different situation), where I see myself as more but always get shut down in 'that box'. Knowing your worth is a massive reason of conflict. You most definitely don't want to pass as someone who knows it all, but your knowledgeable and you are aware and others are also. Jealousy also plays a big part in this industry. Instead of knowing that one day you will become like that, well, others fight and it has nothing to do with what you are doing at all... It's just human nature. My best advise is to always be humble. Reassure others, instead of pointing out their mistakes. The senior designer should act as a mentor.. really, and should not judge regardless of circumstances.